Back to School – Bible School

Posted on

My kids started back to school the other day and this year it was a little harder to send them back than most. In fact, I sort of felt the way I did when my son started kindergarten 12 years ago. He is now a senior and my daughters are in 10th and 8th grade. I realize my time with them is short and it won’t be long they will be gone from home pursuing their dreams. It is exciting to see them grow and start to develop their independence but it is also sad to know they won’t be around the house every day. I’ll have to start taking out the trash again, mow the yard and shovel the snow; I really will miss them.

I have renewed a personal commitment to make the most of the time I have with them this year. I am going to do things with the whole family but also more individual time. It is a great blessing and a tremendous responsibility to be a Dad. I love it! Dad’s need to realize how much influence they have on their children. I know there are times when we think they aren’t listening or could care less to what we are saying but they do care and are listening.

Let me encourage you fathers particularly you young dads: one of the great things you can do is to take your children to Bible Class every Sunday. Dad make sure you go to class as well instead of going out to get a coffee and read the Sunday paper. Bible class is a great way for younger children to start developing their own faith and to develop relationships with other Christian kids.

I will talk more about about Bible School in the near future – Bible classes are a great blessing for all ages. Make a personal commitment today to be in a Bible Class this Sunday! You will be blessed.

About mballard3

Denise's husband; Bryce, Alyssa and Katlyn's Dad; Minister of Sylvan Nook Church of Christ in Richmond, IN.

Leave a comment